Welcome to SSIOP!

 

As an organization comprised of students interested in the complex issues of human resource management, membership in the Student Society for Industrial and Organizational Psychology (SSIOP) is open to both undergraduate and graduate students of any major (you need not be a graduate student in the I/O Psychology program).

Some of the issues we explore include leadership, motivation, maximizing the utility of job analyses, effective personnel selection, performance appraisal, and training design and implementation.

In addition, SSIOP provides many services to members, such as funding for attendance to regional and national conferences and assistance with individual research projects. It also provides students with information about employment opportunities and PhD programs. The club hosts many social activities each semester including parties, fundraisers, and guest speakers. Everyone is welcome to join our organization.

If you are interested in joining SSIOP, please contact either one of the Faculty Advisors or one of the Club Officers below.

Faculty Advisors

 

Brian W. Schrader (bschrade@emporia.edu): Chair of the Department of Psychology

George B. Yancey (gyancey@emporia.edu): Director of the Industrial-Organizational Psychology Graduate Program

 

Club Officers

 

President: Charles Roemer (croemer@g.emporia.edu)

Vice-President: Hillary Melvin (hmelvin@g.emporia.edu)

Secretary: Kelsey Collins (kcollin3@g.emporia.edu)

Treasurer: Alyssa Castillo (acastil1@g.emporia.edu)

Fundraising Chair: Amy Miller (amille28@g.emporia.edu)

Social Chair: Macy Cheeks (mcheeks@g.emporia.edu)

Historian: Megan Duggins (mduggins@g.emporia.edu)

Club Liaison: Ian Schroeder (ischroed@g.emporia.edu)

Web Master: Carrie Booth (cbooth3@g.emporia.edu)