Student Organizations

There are six student organizations associated with the Department of Biological Sciences. Many students join at least one of these organizations and some students become involved with several. This is an excellent opportunity to become involved with students who share your interests and to interact with fellow students and faculty outside the classroom. All of the organizations are quite active and together provide a very diverse set of activities and projects.

  • Biology Club -- Biology Club is open to all students who have an interest in Biology.

President -- Dylan Osterhaus (dosterha@g.emporia.edu)
Vice President -- Jacob Schaefer (jschaef5@g.emporia.edu)
Secretary -- Kevin Sandoval (ksandova@g.emporia.edu)
Treasurer -- Devin Crumbley (dcrumble@g.emporia.edu)
Faculty sponsor -- Brenda Koerner   (bkoerner@emporia.edu)

 

  • Caduceus Society -- Caduceus is open to all individuals who are interested in future careers in health-related fields.

President -- Jessica Carillo (jcarrill@g.emporia.edu)
Vice President -- Samantha Miller (smille31@g.emporia.edu)
Secretary -- Abigail Brown (abrown32@g.emporia.edu)
Treasurer -- Josue Mejia (jmejia1@g.emporia.edu)
Faculty sponsor -- Dwight Moore (dmoore@emporia.edu)

 

  • Beta Beta Beta -- Tri-Beta is the honorary organization in Biology and membership is by invitation for sophomores and upper-division students with a 3.0 gpa in biology.

President -- Ashlea Chapman (achapma2@g.emporia.edu)
Vice President -- Emily Potucek (epotucek@g.emporia.edu)
Secretary -- Sarah Webb (swebb4@g.emporia.edu)
Treasurer -- Stephanie Schoeph (sschoeph@g.emporia.edu)
Faculty sponsor -- Eric Yang   (yyang@emporia.edu)
Faculty sponsor -- Melissa Bailey   (mbailey4@emporia.edu)

 

  • Organization of Biology Graduate Students -- OBGS is open to graduate students with an interest in biology.

President -- Eric Wilson   (ewilson5@g.emporia.edu)
Vice-president -- Nathan Holoubek  (nholoube@emporia.edu)
Treasurer -- Hamid Shanshanan (hshansha@emporia.edu)
Faculty sponsor -- William Jensen   (wjensen1@emporia.edu)

 

  • ESU Student Chapter of The Wildlife Society -- The Wildlife Society is open to all students who have an interest in fisheries or wildlife.

President -- Tyler Thomsen (tthomse1@g.emporia.edu)
Vice President -- Rocky Hill (rhill10@g.emporia.edu)
Secretary -- Curtis Defore (cdefore@g.emporia.edu)
Treasurer -- Kelsey Porter (kporter4@g.emporia.edu)
Faculty sponsor -- William Jensen   (wjensen1@emporia.edu)

 

  • ESU Marine Biology Club -- The Marine Biology Club is open to all students who have an interest in Marine Biology.

President -- Alison (Eley) Meeth (ameeth@g.emporia.edu)
Vice President -- Bekah Lane (blane1@g.emporia.edu)
Secretary -- Adrianna Villarreal (avillarr@g.emporia.edu)
Treasurer -- Bailey Lampton (blampton@g.emporia.edu)
Social Chair -- Emilee Johnson (ejohns22@g.emporia.edu)
Faculty sponsor -- Erika Martin (emartin7@emporia.edu)