Skip to content

Department of Art


Art '96 Application
Emporia State University - Art 96 Scholarship

The Department of Art at Emporia State University offers the Art 96 Scholarship to an outstanding art student. The scholarship amount is $1000. Eligibility is limited to currently enrolled art majors entering their junior or senior years, and planning to be enrolled in at least 12 hours each semester of the coming school year. This scholarship is awarded on the basis of artistic achievement and financial need.

Process: The scholarship committee will choose two finalists. The donor of the scholarship will then interview both finalists and select a winner.

Portfolio Guidelines *Scholarships are awarded on the basis of work submitted by prospective candidates. 

1) Each applicant must submit a portfolio of up to ten works completed at Emporia State University. Slides or digital images may be substituted for large-scale work or original art that is not available. 
*Growth should be evident if including work completed the year prior to the current academic year. 

2) A cover letter stating educational background, status as an art major at ESU, and interests and goals in art is also required. If studying to be an art teacher, specify level(s) of teaching preference. This is a very important part of the competition. A poorly written letter can eliminate your application. It is recommended that you have your letter proofed by a professor. 

*All materials must have labels with the following information:


Emporia address:
Phone number :


Academic year work was completed:

*5pm Tuesday, March 11, 2014 is the deadline for delivering portfolios to be considered for the Art 96 Scholarship competition. Materials received after this date will not be considered. Finalists for the award will be announced Wednesday, March 12. Interviews will be conducted on Friday, March 14. The name of the recipient will be announced at the opening reception of the Annual Student Art Exhibition.

Deliver materials to the Conference Room in the Art Office by 5pm on March 11th
Scholarship Committee: Derek Wilkinson, Dan Kirchhefer, Eric Conrad

*Non-finalists may pick up their artwork on Thursday, March 13, after the finalists have been announced.