Calendar of events


Sporting KC Alumni Event (Tailgate and soccer game)

Saturday, August 3, Tailgate: 3:30 p.m.; Soccer game: 5:30 p.m.

Sporting Park, 1 Sporting Way, Kansas City, Kan.


South Central Alumni Chapter Golf Tournament

Sunday, Aug. 25, Noon

Hesston Municipal Golf Course


Summervill’s Fan Fair

Friday, Sept. 6, 5:30 p.m.

Kansas State Fairgrounds, Hutchinson


ESU at the Kansas State Fair

Friday, Sept. 6 – Sunday, Sept. 15

Meadowlark Building, Kansas State Fairgrounds, Hutchinson


ESU Family Day and Hornet Heritage Family presentation

Saturday, Sept. 28

Welch Stadium


Kansas City Alumni Event

Thursday, Oct. 3, 5:30 p.m.

Boulevard Brewery, 2501 Southwest Blvd., Kansas City, Mo.


Sam E. and Jeannene Hayes Lecture

Former Lt. Gov. Gary Sherrer (BS ’63)

Thursday, Oct. 10, 7 p.m.

Webb Hall, Memorial Union


All Shook Up – Homecoming Musical

Thursday – Sunday, Oct 10 – 13

Albert Taylor Hall, Plumb Hall


Homecoming Weekend

Friday – Sunday, Oct. 11 – 13

Reunion Groups:

   Class of 1963 50th Anniversary Reunion

   Emporia Connection Reunion

   Cheerleaders & Stingers Reunion

   Band Reunion

   Professional Development School (PDS) Program 20th Anniversary Celebration


   Blue Hey Honor Society Reunion & Initiation

   Friday, Oct. 11

   Blue Key Room and Skyline Room, Memorial Union


Alumni Awards Dinner

Friday, Oct. 11, Reception: 5:30 p.m.; Dinner: 6 p.m.


Athletics Hall of Honor Breakfast

Saturday, Oct. 12, 8 a.m.


Alumni Coffee/Kaffee Klatch

Saturday, Oct. 12, 9 a.m.

Main Street, Memorial Union


Black and Gold Tour (high school juniors and seniors)

Saturday, Oct. 12

Admissions Office, Memorial Union


Homecoming Parade

Saturday, Oct. 12, 11:30 a.m.

Commercial Street to ESU Campus


Watering Hole (pre-game tailgating)

Saturday, Oct. 12, Noon

Milton Tennis Courts


Homecoming Football

Emporia State vs. Southwest Baptist

Saturday, Oct. 12, 2 p.m.

Welch Stadium


Alumni & Friends Post-game Party

Featuring ESU student and alumni talent

Saturday, Oct. 12, 5:30 p.m.

Webb Hall, Memorial Union


Winter Undergraduate Commencement

Saturday, Dec. 14, 9:30 a.m.

White Auditorium, 111 E. 6th Ave., Emporia


Winter Graduate Commencement

Saturday, Dec. 14, 2 p.m.

Albert Taylor Hall, Plumb Hall


ESU Summer Theatre On Stage

7:30 p.m., Bruder Theatre


Maybe, Baby, It’s You (romantic comedy)

Wednesday – Saturday, June 26-29


Drinking Habits (a farce)

Wednesday – Saturday, July 10 – 13


Still Life With Iris (a fantasy for the whole family)

Wednesday – Saturday, July 24 – 27