Skip to content

Academic Affairs

Awards and Honors

  • 2006 the Emporia State University Teachers College received national recognition for excellence and innovative methods in teacher preparation from Arthur Levine, then President of Columbia University’s Teachers College, who said, “This (teacher preparation program) is a Camelot for teacher education.”
  • In 2009 the Teachers College again received national recognition from Arne Duncan, U. S. Secretary of Education when in a speech he said, “At Emporia State University, home of the National Teachers Hall of Fame, the Teachers College is the crown jewel of the school.”
  • Edutopia identified the ESU Teachers College as a pioneer in the system of professional development programs with local school districts in Kansas.
  • Dr. Tes Mehring, former Dean of the Teachers College and current Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs and Student Life, received the prestigious Edward C. Pomeroy Award for Outstanding Contributions to Teacher Education from the American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education.
  • Dr. Betsy Yanik, professor of mathematics, received from President George W. Bush, the Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring that recognizes individuals and organizations that have demonstrated a commitment to mentoring students and increasing the participation of minorities, women and disabled students in science, mathematics and engineering.
  • Dr. Dee Holmes received the Distinguished Clinician Award from the Association of Teacher Educators.
  • The International Reading Association's Certification of Distinction in recognition of an outstanding reading program for pre-service teachers was presented to Dr. Gerry Coffman and Dr. Beth Dobler.
  • ESU teacher education graduates have been recipients of the $25,000 Milken Family Foundation Education Awards—among them are Bradley Nicks in 2009, Eric Kessler and Jamelle McConnell-Brown in 2007, Jeff McAdoo in 2000, and Wallace Fujii in 1997.
  • Six ESU teacher education graduates are recipients of the 2010 Kansas Department of Education Horizon Awards presented to first-year educators who excel in the classroom.
  • More than 1,300 students are currently enrolled in graduate teacher education programs including early childhood education; health, physical education and recreation; instructional design and technology; psychology, art therapy, rehabilitation and mental health counseling; school leadership and middle and secondary teacher education; and special education and school counseling.
  • Examiners from the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE), at their last accreditation visit, reported that the Teachers College successfully met all of the organization’s standards for reaccreditation and they could find no areas of required improvement.
  • The School of Business received accreditation from the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB) as one of only 25 percent of schools of business to achieve this level of certification.
  • The Emporia State University Newman School of Nursing received continued accreditation from the National League of Nursing Accrediting Commission and continued approval from the Kansas State Board of Nursing. In 2008, nursing graduates posted a 96 percent first-time pass rate on the National Council Licensure Examination for Registered Nurses (NCLEX-RN).
  • The American Library Association awarded the School of Library Information Management (SLIM) continuing accreditation to 2015. It was the first school west of the Mississippi River to offer classes in library and information management.
  • In 2009, the proposal, “Enhancing the Biosciences at Emporia State University” resulted in a $190,000 grant from the Federal Department of Education Fund for the Improvement of Post-Secondary Education to enhance classroom learning.
  • Biology faculty member Dr. Tim Burnett received a renewal for the K-INBRE grant for $200,000 to support undergraduate research. Dr. Burnett also received an Outstanding Mentor Award from the Kansas Idea Network of Biomedical Research Excellence
  • Biology faculty member Dr. Scott Crupper received a grant of $195,000 from the National Institutes of Health National Cancer Institute to study secondary metabolite production in Sporangium cellulosom.
  • Emporia State University was ranked tenth in the nation in producing Academic All-Americans by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA). Hornet student-athletes have been named Academic All-Americans 16 times since 2000.
  • In 2009 the William Allen White Library celebrated 100 years as a Federal Depository Library, making useful government publications and information available to all Kansans.
  • By participating in the American Association of State Colleges and Universities (AACSU) American Democracy Project, ESU students have learned valuable insights into the economic challenges facing the United States. ESU’s participation in a study of the national deficit has earned designation as the outstanding America’s Future Award-winning campus.